Lent: I’m Starting Up Instead Of Giving Up

Don’t worry, I’m not going to preach

Matthew Maratea
4 min readFeb 27, 2020
See I got the ashes I’m not lying.

I’m Catholic. I was raised that way, went to Catholic school, couldn’t shake it if I wanted too. So I was at church today, getting my ashes for Ash Wednesday and listening to Monsignor Rich deliver his homily. He was talking about how Lent is time to slow down, and take stock of things in your life, in addition to making a sacrifice.

He’s a great pastor, and delivers his message well, so I was there sitting in the pew thinking to myself, what can I do. Well I landed on a few things that I believe I could change, or at least be a bit better in.

I’m issuing myself a 40 day challenge to be better and to make some changes. A Lenten reset if you will. Perhaps it is something you might take up on your own after taking stock of your own life. Or you can read mine and bug me about keeping up with them. Launch random tweets towards me @mmaratea22 and ask how I’ve been doing.

DON’T STAY UP FOR NO REASON (Yes I’m shouting at myself)

I’m naturally a night owl, but after thinking about it I’ve realized I often push it too far.

I’m never going to be in bed before 1:00 am (unless working in the morning demands 7:00 am or earlier) but I’ve got no reason to be up till 2:45 or 3 o’clock in the morning.

--

--

Matthew Maratea

Writer, beer junkie and sports fanatic. I’ll talk about all of that and more! Follow my podcast @sportchancepod and me @mmaratea22 on Twitter and Instagram!