An Open Letter to Everyday Writers on This Writing Life

Matt Hampton
5 min readFeb 8, 2022
Photo by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

Dear Writer –

You don’t know me, but I know you in the way all writers know one another. In the way, we all know the feel of pens in our hands, of keys clicking beneath our fingers, and the mutual excitement and panic of a blank page. We are all storytellers in some fashion, though we may differ in how we tell that story. Still, in this way, I know you though your heart, mind, and face may be very distant to me.

You don’t know me, and you didn’t ask for my advice, but there are a few bits and pieces of this writing life I find trip us all up. Little clichés and tiny doubts that find their way into the corners of our minds and grow until they are nightmarish monsters we find ourselves unable to escape. So I felt the need to put pen to paper and write some thoughts for you.

Maybe they will help. Maybe they won’t. Do with them as you will…as you should all unsolicited advice.

Enjoy.

On Seeking Originality in a World Where Everything’s Been Said

You will often be told there are no new stories in the world. All of the great ones have been discovered and told.

But that’s only half the story.

--

--

Matt Hampton

Autistic creative living and working in Charleston, SC. Five-year-old Matt thinks he’s pretty awesome.