Victoria Suzanne Changed My Mind

Matt Hampton
2 min readNov 4, 2021
Photo taken by the author.

I write a lot about creating community and supporting writers. This is something I haven’t always been great with myself. So I try to make this support a priority in my life, sometimes more successfully than others. This November I decided that I would share two writers I discovered here on Medium with my social media and professional networks.

Why? Because there are some amazing writers here that I really enjoy and I think others would as well. My efforts probably won’t make you famous, but every little step helps move you forward.

Today I want to talk about Victoria Suzanne.

Let’s start this one with a confession. I have never been a fan of the true-crime genre. It’s not that the subject matter isn’t interesting, but often the writing can draw on and chase random rabbit trails, pulling me out of the writing. This isn’t universal, but I encountered it enough that I stopped reading it.

Then I read Victoria’s work.

I love her style. It’s clear and provides details in a very sequential way. There’s also a way she has of drawing you into the story, even ones you may already be aware of. She never chases odd rabbit trails and I think that’s key with this genre. Overall I find myself looking forward to her next true crime piece.

--

--

Matt Hampton

Autistic creative living and working in Charleston, SC. Five-year-old Matt thinks he’s pretty awesome.