The winter of 2015: 3 weeks, 4 storms and 75 inches of snow

Digging out in West Roxbury, MA.

Matt Carroll
3 min readFeb 16, 2015

By Matt Carroll <@MattatMIT>

The snow piles at the end of my driveway are eight-feet high. I have swollen ice dams on my roof. My deck might collapse if another pound of white stuff lands there.

Oh, and the weatherman is telling us to expect another 4–8 inches of snow tomorrow, and possibly a major snowstorm on Sunday.

It’s Feb. 13, and the apocalyptic Winter of 2015 shows no sign of letting up.

I’d be worried, if I wasn’t having so much fun. Let’s face it: If the weather is going to be bad, it should be so bad that you know you’ll have fun talking about it for the next 30 years.

… and it’s the Lost Legion of Bikes in Cambridge, MA

Buried bikes in Cambridge, a snowed-in street in West Roxbury, and totally buried commuter rail tracks on the Needham Heights line. PHOTOS/Matt Carroll

Like this story? Then please give me a “recommend.”

Matthew Carroll lives in West Roxbury and works for the MIT Media Lab, where he runs the Future of News initiative. He often writes about hackathons, such as avideo news hack in New York or an Al Jazeera-sponsored event. He can be followed @MattatMIT. He writes fiction under the name of Sean Patrix.

Did you enjoy this story? My blog is here.

Other stories:

--

--

Matt Carroll

Journalism prof at Northeastern University. Ran Future of News initiative at the MIT Media Lab; ex-Boston Globe data reporter & member of Spotlight