Fruit Of The Loom Short Leg Boxer Briefs Review

Datapotomus
3 min readApr 21, 2018

--

My brief foray into the world of short legged boxer briefs.

Features

  • Product Link: Here
  • Material(s): 93% Polyester, 7% Spandex
  • Style: Performance — Boxer Brief
  • Price: $15.99
  • Approximate Steps To Chafe: ASTC 0–500

Packaging and Appearance

The packaging was super deceptive. Based on the picture above you can see that on the package the legs looked longer than they really ended up being. I expected a little shorter legs. What I did not expect is to open up the package and find a pair of damn briefs!

I was beyond pissed! They didn’t even look remotely close to what they were in the picture. Short leg my ass! This is a no leg boxer brief. Which is in fact a damn brief. I really shouldn’t review these things, because I gave up on briefs, but screw it. I just made sure to put a backup pair in my bag for work.

Here is a couple build quality shots that show some of the design work. From a stitching perspective they aren’t that bad. They do a reasonably good job at seam placement. As well as a pretty good job at evenly cutting the fabric.

Comfort and Chafe

As soon as I put these on, there was friction. The comfort was just about the same as tidy whities. Even though they were a mesh I can’t really tell a difference between them and briefs.

Friction and chafe started almost as soon as I started my morning walk, and just ended up getting worse. If I had to give an estimate. It couldn’t have been more than 500 steps. The chafe got so bad during my morning walk that I had to stop my walk midway through, and head back to get my backup pair of Mack Weldon’s.

Moisture and Odor Control

Moisture control was ok for the areas that it covered. However, there weren’t a ton of spots that it did cover. So I would say that moisture control was an overall fail.

Odor wasn’t that good either, as there was an odor on these guys even just using them in the morning.

Value and Warranty

These don’t offer any of the same skin coverage as the boxer briefs. There isn’t much in terms of value in these at all. You get a much better value proposition from something like a seven pack of briefs.

These aren’t made by some of the start-up underwear companies. So, the warranty is nonexistent aside from the normal return policy that the store has that you buy them from.

Verdict

These are a firm no for a recommendation. They provide no additional value over a pair of briefs. In fact, I would say that these are downright deceptive in what they are. I would avoid these at all costs.

Why are they great?

  • They come in a pleasing blue color.

Who would want to stay clear?

  • Anyone who has dealt with any of the issues that I cover in this blog.

--

--