How Life Will Change When People Stop Going to Work

The transformation is happening right before our eyes.

Matt Patton
5 min readSep 30, 2022
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

About a month ago, while on a business trip, I found myself looking for a late-night meal in a small town in Iowa along the Mississippi River. When I say a small town, I mean a one stoplight kind of town.

Typically, there are only about four places to eat there, but since it was past 9 p.m., my options were narrowed down to a Casey’s Gas Station or a McDonalds.

I tried Casey’s first, but the only item that resembled hot food was some kind of shriveled up meat that looked like it had been turning in the hot dog roller for decades. Although quite tempting, you’ll be surprised to learn that I decided to pass on that particular item, on account that I couldn’t even identify what kind of food it was.

So, that left me with McDonalds. Once I entered the restaurant, I was surprised to find that there was a long line of people waiting to order and receive their food. I guessed they had also seen the rotting piece of who-knows-what at Casey’s and followed the same path as I had.

Considering I had an empty stomach following a long day of work, I was willing to wait for my Big Mac Meal. Once I finally got my order in, I filled up my drink and looked for a clean table. After…

--

--

Matt Patton

Top writer in This Happened To Me and Travel. Love to write, travel, watch sports, and save money. It’s the little things in life that teach us the most.