Early to bed, early to rise is changing my life

The most accessible life hack I ignored for years

Matt Ragland
4 min readDec 19, 2017
Photo by Ben Blennerhassett on Unsplash. Also it is not me.

this is a snippet of my upcoming 2017 year in review

I was in a rough place at the end of 2016. I wasn’t sleeping or exercising enough, I was irritable, and I thought I was either going to get fired from ConvertKit or quit due to burnout. I was also in a cycle of getting sick ever couple of months, which had never happened to me before.

I didn’t really pull out of it until around March, and it started with focusing on exercise first. I’ve written this before, but fitness is the key cornerstone habit for me. It’s the trigger that sets off a successful day. When I’m moving, I want to eat better, and I’m also tired at the end of the day. I feel better about myself and do better work. It’s the domino that starts knocking others over.

I had redlined for most of 2016, and was paying for it. 2017 was a much better year for personal and mental health, and that was a big hit.

No work after 7:00 pm, wake up at 5:00 am

For most of my life I’ve worked late, getting an extra hour or so in after dinner. I always felt like there was something else to do, either with ConvertKit work or on my own side hustles. I changed that in 2017 for two…

--

--

Matt Ragland

Onboarding Lead at ConvertKit. Started a weekly vlog this year to teach everything I know, check it out: https://www.youtube.com/mattragland