How I changed my spending habits and my plan for early retirement!

Matt Royko
5 min readMar 14, 2023

After seeing a popular show on youtube showing how influential people spend their money, I decided to share where my money goes on a monthly basis and how my spending habits changed over the years.

There was a time in my life when I needed to stop and take a closer look at my personal finance situation as I had no idea about how and where I spent my money.

After talking to my friends about it, I found out that I wasn't alone. So I decided to take a closer look at:

How much do I spend on food?

How much am I saving?

How much am I spending on transportation?

etc.

I needed to know the answers to these questions before figuring out what to do next.

The ultimate goal of doing this is to get my finances in order, so I can focus on figuring out a way to make more money and retire early.

To get the answers I wanted, I simply started tracking my daily expenses in an excel spreadsheet over a period of a few months.

This was done during my days at the University so take it with a pinch of salt, as it represents the spending habits of a student.

--

--