How much passive income have I made with Brave Browser and how you can do the same?

Matt Royko
6 min readOct 23, 2022

A year ago, I went on a mission to find the best ad-blocking software for my phone and PC, to improve my mobile browsing experience, as viewing content online turned into a horrible experience filled with ads.

That's when I discovered Brave Browser.

The main selling point of Brave is to offer a safe browsing experience while not gathering personal data about its users like Google does and splitting the revenue from “Brave Private Ads” with you.

As the Brave Rewards page says:

“Earn tokens by viewing Brave Private Ads. Ads presented are based on your interests, as inferred from your browsing behavior. No personal data or browsing history ever leaves your browser”.

Ever since I found out, that I can have the majority of ads blocked and control how many “Brave Private Ads” are shown to me per day to earn a small passive income, I was hooked.

So I downloaded the app to my phone and PC to test it out. You get rewarded for viewing ads in Basic Attention Token (BAT).

But before I talk about my experience and how much I made over a period of one year, let's look at the native token of Brave Browser first.

Basic Attention Token

--

--