Lost

Maureen C. Berry
1 min readMay 16, 2015

My stomach quivers

when I can’t find my way.

Like when I fall in love,

drive on the freeway, or hike in the woods.

When I can’t find my way,

like when I said, “I do”, although it wasn’t like a

drive on the freeway, or hike in the woods.

Instead, I floated across the Las Vegas ballroom, like Sophia, the archangel of love.

Like when I said, “I do”, although it wasn’t like

a moment of indecision, rather I was terrified I'd fail.

Instead I floated across the Las Vegas ballroom, like Sophia, the archangel of love.

Confident, ready, and prepared to squelch my anxiety.

A moment of indecision, rather I was terrified I'd fail.

But his gentle smile and bright shining eyes quickened the tremble in my thighs.

Confident, ready, and prepared to squelch my anxiety.

He held out his hand as I neared.

But his gentle smile and bright shining eyes quickened the tremble in my thighs.

And I, breathy, flushed cheeks, moist, succumbed.

He held out his hand as I neared. Still,

My stomach quivers.

--

--

Maureen C. Berry

American visual artist & author. Current: Girl on Fire🔥 watercolor series. Recent: Wild African Adventures in Art exhibition. Learn more at maureencberry.com.