Aesthetics of the “Hallyu Wave”

mavilaza
1 min readApr 12, 2017

--

Homework for Aimee’s mini lesson

Something that stood out to me from the music videos was the way the producers mixed different aspects, such as green screens and lettering popping up(for the female group). Their form, having seems that were aesthetically pleasing to the eye, served the function of grabbing the viewer’s attention at every second. However, for me, there were times throughout the videos where I felt slightly overwhelmed because there was so much going on as the groups sang. I did not know what to pay attention to or focus on, for everything was new to me and it all seemed very interesting. As Richard Seymour mentioned, I was viewing and interpreting the videos not as they are, but as I am. I am not used to having so much go on in a video and I am not great at multitasking. Maybe to someone who is used to it or is good at multitasking would enjoy them more than I did.

One of the main difference between the music videos was that the male group’s song and video seems slightly darker and more excited. On the other hand, the female group’s video seemed much sweeter, lighter, and peppier. Although I found the videos interesting, I do not think I would watch or listen to more videos similar to these.

--

--