My 12-week Reverse Bet… with Myself

12 weeks. 6 action items. and $500.00 on the line.

Max Weber
2 min readJan 15, 2017

Low key, I feel like I’ve been going through the motions (at least some of them) for a while now. Both in my personal life and in regards to my business. I know the things I should be doing, but straight up… I’ve been avoiding them.

“I know the things I should be doing, but straight up… I’ve been avoiding them.”

Maybe it’s because of fear. Or uncertainty. Maybe it’s because I’m afraid of being judged by my peers. Maybe I’m just lazy and don’t hustle as hard as I like to think I do. Ouch…

Whatever the reason is, something’s got to change.

So I’m lighting a small fire — in the form of a reverse bet — to motivate me to take action over the next 12-weeks.

What the heck is a reverse bet?

A reverse bet is a bet against yourself. It’s setting a list of actions to take, tasks to complete or targets to hit and then if you don’t do those things, you lose the bet and have to do something you don’t want to do… like give away $500 to someone on your Facebook friends list.

Yeah, that’s what’s on the line for me. $500.

And no, it’s not a huge sum of money by any means, but the reality is I’d much rather use that $500 to buy a brand new pair of Yeezys, new workout gear from Nike and Lululemon, 75 double-meat chicken and steak bowls from Chipotle or simply invest that money back into my business.

I mean, who wouldn’t want 75 double-meat chicken and steak bowls from Chipotle?

Anyhow…

Here’s what I’ve got to do to keep my $500:

  • Post to Instagram 6x/week
  • Meditate 10 minutes/day
  • Write 1x blog post/week (like this one)
  • Read 1x book/21 days
  • Launch new Shopify website
  • Create 1x digital fitness product

For 12-weeks.

Doable? Heck yeah it is. But at the same time, I’ve actually got to do it. Even on the days I don’t want to.

And that’s what this is all about… doing. Taking action no matter what.

Over to you

I’m really curious for your feedback on this. Whether you’ve done a reverse bet before, or you’re hearing about it for the first time, what advice wold you give me? What thoughts do you have on what I’m doing here? Are you hoping I fail or succeed? Do you want my $500?

I’d love to know, so if you’ve got a minute, tweet me and let’s chat about it.

Thanks for reading! If you know someone who needs $500.00 then hit the ❤︎ button below. :)

--

--

Max Weber

I write things from time to time. | Certified Personal Trainer