M2M Day 103: Apparently, the best way to meet new people in San Francisco is to take an Uber Pool after a backflip lesson

Max Deutsch
2 min readFeb 12, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

AcroSports, the gym where I train, is about 5 miles from my apartment, so I take an Uber Pool there and back.

Like most Uber Pool rides, on the way there, I hop in the car, greet the other passengers, and then, go back to listening to my audio book.

However, on the way back, it’s a completely different story:

The Uber pulls up to AcroSports, which is a massive, decorative church-style building, except with a big “AcroSports” sign across the front. I exit the building in gym clothes, in a disgusting sweat, with a camera tripod in one hand and a gym bag in the other.

Apparently, every time I get into the Uber, I must explain the situation…

“What is that place?”

“It’s called AcroSports. It’s a gymnastics studio.”

“What were you doing there?”

“I was taking a tumbling class.”

“Oh, that’s cool. What were you learning?”

“I’m actually trying to learn how to do a backflip.”

“Why?”

“Well, right now, I’m in the middle of a year-long project…”

Then, the rest of conversation, I’m explaining Month to Master, the other months’ challenges, etc.

And since the Uber Pool usually picks up three people on the way back (plus some traffic), the ride is usually 40 minutes and I’m able to have a decent conversation with the other passengers and the driver.

In fact, today, I met up with someone who was in last night’s Uber Pool to continue the conversation.

Anyway, the moral of the story: If you’re looking to meet new, interesting people in San Francisco, just go take a backflip lesson at AcroSports and then hail an Uber Pool.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--