M2M Day 105: Complimenting strangers

Max Deutsch
1 min readFeb 14, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Since my backflip lessons are only twice per week, I need to find ways to “progress” even on days that I’m not going to AcroSports.

During my last session, my coach, Elijah, suggested that I spend some time addressing my fear (which is the main thing currently holding me back from landing a backflip). In particular, Elijah encouraged me to find non-backflip-related ways to overcome fear throughout my week.

The idea is that if I can get my brain more comfortable with the uncomfortable, hopefully, it also becomes more comfortable with the idea of backflipping.

So, today, I gave myself a mini-challenge: On my walk home from the train, I challenged myself to stop ten people on the street and give each one of them a compliment.

While I’m not that shy, this was still quite fear-inducing. And yet, after the first compliment, the rest were really easy.

I’m not convinced that this is going to help me with my backflipping, but at least it was a fun way to spend the last leg of my commute.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--