M2M Day 114: I fell from the sky and hit the deck hard

Max Deutsch
1 min readFeb 23, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Yesterday, I finally started landing mostly-unassisted backflips on my feet, like this one…

However, I still have two problems with my technique: 1) I’m not jumping as high as I can, and 2) I’m not tucking as hard as I can.

Particularly, when it comes to my jump, I’m only putting in about 70% of my full energy in the upward direction.

I know this because, yesterday, in between backflip attempts, I tested out my upper limit: I jumped up at 100% power and tried to tuck my knees.

For some reason, I didn’t anticipate that the tuck would initiate significant rotation, but it did. As a result, I panicked in the air and this happened…

Nevertheless, if I can just do this on Friday, but continue pulling my hips and knees over my head, I’ll land an unassisted backflip no problem.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--