M2M Day 145: My best solo yet! (filmed on an iPhone)

Max Deutsch
2 min readMar 26, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For March, my goal is to play a 5-minute blues guitar solo.

Today, I was able to turn things around and get really immersed in my guitar playing. In fact, during my practice session, rather than interrupting my “flow”, I just leaned my iPhone against my laptop and filmed today’s video on the practice couch, rather than against the white wall in the kitchen.

I forgot to record the guitar into the computer (which I realize at around :37 seconds into the video), but the iPhone audio ended up being usable. The backing track may be a little loud, but it works.

This is definitely my best solo yet. It’s diverse, passionate, and engaging. It’s also longer than five minutes, which means… If this solo meets my hard-to-define, yet “I know it when I see it” standard for blues guitar solos, I can officially say that I’ve completed March’s challenge.

After listening back, this solo does seem to meet my standards. However, due to the subjectiveness of this entire thing, I’ve decided to sleep on it, listen in the morning, and, if I still am convinced, I’ll declare the challenge complete then.

Honestly, the one thing really holding me back is the sound quality. I’d rather the “successful solo” be perfectly captured (at least from an audio standpoint). But, that’s probably not necessary from a purely “did I execute the skill or not?” perspective — plus, I still have a week or so to record other guitar solos if I want.

Tomorrow, I’ll make the final call.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--