M2M Day 159: I’m a week behind

Max Deutsch
2 min readApr 9, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For April, my goal is to hold a 30-minute conversation in Hebrew on the future of technology.

Today went perfectly.

I rolled out of bed and onto a 30-minute Skype Hebrew lesson (today’s topic was “the future of inequality”).

After a mid-day interlude of listening to the entire “The Martian” audiobook for a second time, walking along San Francisco’s Embarcadero, grabbing a burger at the Ferry Building’s farmers market, stopping by the Union Square Apple Store to play, working out, and making some electronic music in the park, I eventually ended up back at my apartment, where I wrote one of this month’s eleven Hebrew monologues.

Even with the new structure in place, writing these Hebrew monologues is still a lot of work: Rather than just translating my ideas directly into Hebrew, I instead try to express everything in words I already know, or words that are heavily related to words I already know (Hebrew has a very explicit root system).

Since my vocabulary is minimal, this wordsmithing effort requires significant brainpower. As I’m writing, I also need to decide whether or not to adopt new words (For example, today, I decided to learn the phrase for “genetic engineering”).

Anyway, I signed up for this, so I’m happily willing to contribute the brainpower necessary to complete the remaining ten monologues. The problem is… I wish I started this whole process one week ago, at the beginning of the month. Instead, I floundered around a bit, thinking I could just randomly walk my way into Hebrew proficiency.

Nevertheless, I can’t go back in time, and part of this learning process is figuring out the learning process anyway, so this week hasn’t been completely wasted. Still, I feel like I’m just starting, and I’ve already burned through 25% of my time.

Hopefully, I can finish all the monologues in the next two weeks, leaving the final week to put it all together.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--