M2M Day 219: Designing the perfect day of training

Max Deutsch
3 min readJun 8, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For June, my goal is to develop perfect pitch.

In the past week, I’ve identified my main training tools and objectives with each.

Now, I need to find ways to consistently integrate these tools and practice methods into my life and distributed throughout my day. I believe that, in order to have any chance of acquiring perfect pitch, I must fully immerse myself in the process.

Of course, complete immersion can be challenging, given that I have a full-time job, a longish commute, and other daily responsibilities. The trick, then, is to make my daily practice habits as effortless as possible.

So, here’s what I’ve come up with…

When I leave my apartment in the morning (my first daily trigger), I start the 12 minute and 42 second “Reference Tone Trainer” audio track that I created yesterday. Not-so-coincidently, my walk to the train station takes exactly 12 minutes and 42 seconds, so I board the train as the track finishes.

Finding a seat on the train and sitting down is my next trigger: At this point, I open up Toned Ear, and spend the next 20 minutes or so playing the “Perfect Pitch Game”. (This is by far the best part… It’s a highly addicting game).

Then, once at work, I need to focus on work.

However, I’ve created two triggers that help me spend a few seconds here and there practicing during the workday.

Firstly, I made the wallpaper of my lock screen the album art for “Changing” by John Mayer (which is the song I’m using to establish my mental reference note).

Every time I check my phone, I see the trigger and attempt to quietly sing the first note of the song to myself, which should be a C.

I then use the Perfect Piano app to play a C and check my accuracy.

The second trigger I’ve set up is an hourly reminder via IFTTT.

On the hour, after seeing the notification, I open Toned Ear and try to guess the very first note of the quiz.

This is one step more challenging than singing the C: In this case, I need to set my mental reference frame to C, and then interpret the first note in relation to this reference frame.

Sometimes, I’ll be in the middle of work when I receive the notification, and, in those cases, I won’t interrupt myself. However, typically, on the hour, I’ll be in transition between meetings, so it’s a perfect time to guess a single note.

Finally, on my commute back home, once I get on the train, I spend another 20 minutes playing the extended “Perfect Pitch Game” on Toned Ear.

For the next week and a half, I’ll continue training via this routine (unless I hit a wall and need to re-optimize). After that, I’m traveling for the rest of the month, so I’ll need to reestablish a routine at that point.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--