M2M Day 228: Perfect pitch at the airport

Max Deutsch
2 min readJun 16, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For June, my goal is to develop perfect pitch.

Today, I’m flying to the East Coast to see family and friends. I’ll be traveling through the end of the month.

This means that the rest of this month’s challenge will be completed away from my normal routine in San Francisco.

I’m not too worried about this, given that my training only requires a decent WiFi connection and my phone or computer, but I’ll need to make sure I’m finding the time to practice.

Right now, I’m sitting in the airport. My flight has been delayed a bit, so I’m using this time to formulate a plan for the rest of this month — I have exactly two weeks left.

After resetting my mindset last night, I’ve reassessed my pitch identification abilities: Currently, I perform consistently when tested across 9 of the 12 notes. This means that I must introduce one additional note every four days to achieve my goal.

Here are my remaining milestones:

June 16: 9 notes (C, D, Eb, E, F, G, A, Bb, B)

June 20: 10 notes (C, Db, D, Eb, E, F, G, A, Bb, B)

June 24: 11 notes (C, Db, D, Eb, E, F, G, Ab, A, Bb, B)

June 28: 12 notes (C, Db, D, Eb, E, F, F#, G, Ab, A, Bb, B)

Using these milestones as interim guideposts, I’m better prepared to remain disciplined in my approach (rather than getting ahead of myself again).

Of course, I’m not sure that progress will be linear, but, for now, this is how I’ll operate. I’ve also built in two extra days at the end of the month to accommodate any adjustments I must make in these last two weeks.

For now, as I continue waiting for my plane, I’ll keep practicing with 9 notes.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--