M2M Day 265: Challenge complete!

Max Deutsch
2 min readJul 24, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For July, my goal is to solve a Saturday New York Times crossword puzzle in one sitting without any aid.

Yesterday, I completed the 1/14/17 Saturday NYT puzzle with only two mistakes, so I knew it wouldn’t be long before I perfectly cracked one of the 2017 puzzles.

Today, I continued on to the next Saturday of 2017, with the January 21 puzzle.

After 21 minutes and 35 seconds, I filled in the last square, and for the first time ever on a Saturday puzzle, I was shown this message…

In other words, I perfectly solved the puzzle, officially completing this month’s challenge, which I’m quite excited about.

(The last letter of the puzzle was a guess, so I was particular happy when I saw the “Congratulations” message. It could have gone either way.)

Here’s the timelapse of my solve…

And here’s the full video with commentary…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--