M2M Day 278: I’m further away than I thought

Max Deutsch
2 min readAug 6, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For August, my goal is to complete one continuous set of 40 pull-ups.

Before I can do 40 pull-ups without resting, I need to be able to do 40 pull-ups with minimal (1–3 minute) resting. Since my current one set maximum is around 20, I figured I’d be able to 40 pull-ups in two or three sets (with a few minutes of rest in between each set).

This isn’t exactly the case…

Today, I was able to do one set of 19 pull-ups. After two minutes of rest, I could only do 8 pull-ups. And, after another two minutes, I could only do 5.

During the past six months, my weekly pull-up/back training has focused on strength, and not endurance, so this drop-off wasn’t unexpected, but it’s much steeper than what I imagined it would be.

Clearly, I need to start training with endurance in mind as well.

To facilitate this, I’m going to set a one-week interim goal: Complete 40 pull-ups within 5 minutes (with as much as resting as necessary, but as little resting as possible).

If I can get to this point, I can start shortening the interval, until the rest periods are no longer necessary.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is a product manager at Intuit, the creator of Somebody.io and Rightspeed, and the guinea pig for Month to Master.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--