M2M Day 286: I’ve gained 20 pounds

Max Deutsch
2 min readAug 14, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For August, my goal is to complete one continuous set of 40 pull-ups.

It’s been almost two weeks since this month’s pull-up challenge began, and while I’m making progress, I need to increase my pace of progress if I want to reach 40 pull-ups.

So, in order to get more out of each workout and increase the effective load of each pull-up, I’ll now be training with 20 pounds of sandbags strapped to my body.

Ideally, my body will learn to function with this extra weight, normalizing these weighted pull-ups as regular pull-ups. Thus, when I remove the vest, I’ll practical float above the bar…

For now, I’m back down to training in sets of ten.

As a side note, my sister is still visiting, and we managed to walk even further today (than yesterday): Covering 14.1 miles of San Francisco on foot.

A successful day all around.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is a product manager at Intuit, the creator of Somebody.io and Rightspeed, and the guinea pig for Month to Master.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--