M2M Day 311: Watch me freestyle rap for 6 minutes on video

Max Deutsch
2 min readSep 7, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For September, my goal is to continuously freestyle rap for three minutes.

Today, let’s start with the video (6 minutes of decent, nearly continuous freestyle rap) and then I’ll discuss afterwards…

A few things to mentioned about the video:

  1. Since Day 1, I’ve already drastically improved my freestyling abilities (as hopefully demonstrated in the video). I think most of this progress can be attributed to the fact that I’m just more comfortable letting anything come out of my mouth. As a result, with much less filter, occasionally decent new ideas are formed mid-freestyle.
  2. To keep this freestyle moving forward, I leaned on the groups of rhymes that I practiced and fleshed out yesterday. I will continue building out a strong set of “filler rhymes” that I can use to augment the rest of my performance.
  3. The piano is great for performance, but is less good for serious practice. Because I have control over the tempo while at the piano, I’m able to flex the tempo as needed to help me more successfully land my rhymes. With a metronome, I don’t have this luxury, which is actually better for building up my freestyling capacity.

If I can get this much better in a week, I’m excited for what’s to come…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, and guinea pig for Month to Master.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--