M2M Day 346: I’m totally on my own

Max Deutsch
2 min readOct 13, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For October, my goal is to defeat world champion Magnus Carlsen at a game of chess.

Today, to accelerate my progress, I thought it might be a good idea to solicit some outside help from someone with a bit more chess AI experience.

So, I shot out a bunch of emails this morning, and surprisingly, received back many replies very quickly. Unfortunately, though, all the replies took the same form…

In other words, no one was interested in collaborating on this project — or, at least no one was interested in collaborating on this project starting immediately and at full-intensity.

This is understandable.

If I knew that I was going down this algorithmic path at the beginning of the month, and really wanted a collaborator, I should have planned much further in advance.

But, in a way, I’m glad I was rejected. Because now, I have no excuse but to figure out everything on my own.

Ultimately, the purpose of this project is to use time constraints and ambitious goals as motivation to level up my skills, so that’s exactly what I’ll do. Since there’s going to be a little bit of an extra learning curve (given that I’ve never played around with chess data or chess AI previously), this challenge is definitely going to come down to the wire.

But, this time pressure is what makes the project exciting, so here I go… Time to become a master of chess AI.

Side note: To completely negate everything I’ve said above, if you do think you have the relevant experience and are interested in helping out, leave a comment and we’ll figure something out. Always happy to learn from someone else when an option. (And of course always happy to figure it out on my own when it’s not).

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, and guinea pig for Month to Master.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--