M2M Day 48: Fighting for photorealism

Max Deutsch
2 min readDec 18, 2016

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For December, my goal is to draw a realistic self-portrait with only pencil and paper.

Today, I spent a couple hours working on the eyes and nose area of my self-portrait.

My tonal approach is noticeably different than that used on the Derren Brown portrait.

With Derren, I wanted to ensure the portrait emanated three-dimensionality, so I pushed aggressively on the contrast of the portrait. I also didn’t care much for the micro-gradations of shadow/light, as I was more concerned with the correctness of the bigger shapes.

As a result, the portrait definitely has a stunning roundness, but I wouldn’t call it photorealistic.

Thus, this time around, with my self-portrait, I’m aiming to more closely match tones, while also paying attention to the smaller areas of light fall-off. With this attention, my hope is to create a more realistic rendering of my face.

It’s still hard to tell whether I’ll be successful, but we’ll find out soon…

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--