M2M Day 78: Did I lose my passion?

Max Deutsch
2 min readJan 18, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For January, my goal is to solve a Rubik’s Cube in under 20 seconds.

When I first put together the list for my 12 Month to Master challenges, I picked things that were ambitiously out-of-reach. This was on purpose. I wanted goals that seriously challenged my interests, and would push my skills towards genuine mastery.

Over the past 78 days, as I’ve explained the project to many and written my daily blog posts, I’ve slowly become numb to my challenges. My passion is still there (mostly), but my gauge of the challenges’ difficulty has certainly dropped a lot.

This is probably the result of recognition bias combined with prematurely converting my goals to social reality.

If I don’t recalibrate my perspective soon, though, I fear that my passion will also become numb.

Luckily, today helped put things back in perspective: As I continue making progress towards this month’s goal, I realize “Solving a Rubik’s Cube in under 20 seconds is crazy hard. Especially in this timeframe”.

And while I’ve already articulated the difficulty of this challenge on January 1st, today was the first day in many days where I emotionally feel connected to that challenge.

I have a renewed hunger, and 14 more days. Time to make it happen.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--