M2M Day 97: I’m sore in a surprising place

Max Deutsch
2 min readFeb 6, 2017

--

This post is part of Month to Master, a 12-month accelerated learning project. For February, my goal is to land a backflip.

Today, I woke up, and I’m still sore from my session on Friday. Considering, after the session, I remarked that “I didn’t feel like I worked hard”, my body clearly disagrees.

Interestingly, I’m most sore in one surprising place… my shoulders.

Of course, my core and calves are sore from tucking and jumping respectively, but I would have never guessed that my shoulders would be this sore.

In fact, before Friday, if I had to pick one muscle I expected not to be sore, I would have bet on my shoulders. Clearly, my intuition was wrong.

Generating power with my arms

Retrospectively, it makes sense though: Much of my rotational and vertical power is generated through my arms, powered by my shoulders.

It fascinating how my soreness tells a more accurate story than I can.

As an aside, according to my instructor Elijah, one backflip is the equivalent of about 20 sit-ups. I completed about 20 backflips, or the equivalent of 400 sit-ups, in around 15 minutes.

So, while I’m playing up the soreness of my shoulders (because of the surprise factor), in reality, there is no way my shoulders are as sore as my abs. My abs feel like they’ve been torn in half, and hurt when I laugh or sneeze.

This is probably a good thing though: I’m always happy to have a stronger core.

Anyway, hopefully my soreness subsides by Tuesday night, which is when I go back to AcroSports for Round 2.

Read the next post. Read the previous post.

Max Deutsch is an obsessive learner, product builder, guinea pig for Month to Master, and founder at Openmind.

If you want to follow along with Max’s year-long accelerated learning project, make sure to follow this Medium account.

--

--