I’m Jewish. Would you hide me?

Max Goldberg
2 min readNov 29, 2016

--

Fair warning, friends. I have a new standard for letting non-Jewish people in my life, and it’s called “Would you hide me?”

It goes like this: Would you hide me? If your answer isn’t obviously and immediately yes, you’re not allowed in my life.

So. Would you hide me?

I’ve truly never in my life experienced anti-Semitism before like I have in the past three months. I’ve personally been called a kike on multiple occasions both online and in person, and told that I’m crying “Jew tears” when I object.

Would you hide me?

It’s coming from both the left and the right. I’ve seen story after story of Jewish synagogues desecrated with swastikas, and large groups of political rally attendees extending their arms into Nazi salutes. Few people seem to realize most of these reports nationally have taken place in California, where I live, where Trump lost.

Would you hide me?

The Southern Poverty Law Center shows the quantity of anti-Semitic hate crimes has risen above the combined previous two year total — in just three weeks in November.

Would you hide me?

Tila Tequila’s Twitter account was suspended after she tweeted “Happy birthday, mein Fuhror!”

Would you hide me?

CNN displayed a chyron banner normalizing the question of whether or not Jews are people.

Would you hide me?

The New York Times posted an Op-Ed literally asking readers if they would hide a Jew from Nazis.

Would you hide me?

The Chair of Computer Science at Oberlin College, a Jew, had the mezuzah on the door of his home glued over with letters reading “Gas Jews Die”.

Would you hide me?

The Centennial Chair in Law at the University of Texas at Austin, a Jew, received a post card saying “Juden raus”, a Nazi-era phrase meaning “Jews out.”

Would you hide me?

Tell me. Because I need to know now.

--

--