Drupal is dying!

Maxime Topolov
7 min readJun 1, 2022

I was running Adyax for 10 years, a digital agency that quickly became one of the top 10 worldwide Drupal experts. I gave talks and participated in all major Drupal conferences.

I sold the agency in 2018, when we reached 350 people and more than 13M€ in revenue, only doing Drupal sites.

Today, I’m running code.store, a next-generation agency, where we mainly use SaaS and no/low-code tools, building cloud-native apps for our beloved clients.

I do not recommend Drupal to them anymore.

Drupal was the largest open-source project in the world, fueled by more than 1.000.000 developers, millions of sites, hundreds of top 1000 sites, and thousands of modules, translated into 193 languages.

But Drupal is dying. Let’s see why and why you should not use Drupal anymore.

Google Trends for “Drupal”

Drupal is dying because it’s too complex

I used to say to my clients:

“You can everything with Drupal, there is always a module for any feature you might need.“

--

--

Maxime Topolov

Entrepreneur. CEO of code.store. I write about tech, dev and projects management.