How a single developer dropped AWS costs by 90%, then disappeared.

Maxime Topolov
Bootcamp
Published in
4 min readDec 29, 2022

--

NB: source (https://twitter.com/xanf_ua/status/1608121311078776832)

It’s Christmas and I just finished my last audit of a SaaS client. His story is worth telling. It’s a story about greed, lies, and the beauty of hacking.

It’s a story about how this client cut his monthly AWS bill by 90.000 USD with help of a mysterious developer, which disappeared once his job was done.

Jhvm Aaaag Uw Masi. G rs jhz subvnnuajm pptntozzn.

When, 6 months later, AWS costs sky-rocked again to around 120K$ a month, this client called me to help him understand what really happened.

And it was absolutely mindblowing!

By the way, if you need help with complex IT problems, ping me.

--

--

Maxime Topolov
Bootcamp

Entrepreneur. CEO of code.store. I write about tech, dev and projects management.