How to correctly estimate time for a project.

A complete, step-by-step guide to estimate within a 10% error margin.

Maxime Topolov
16 min readMay 28, 2022

Self-defense professionals are used to saying that the best self-defense tactic is running away. (not always true, and should be seen as a metaphor).

The same goes for estimates, the best is to not do them.

But what if you have no choice….

I’m in the IT business for more than 20 years. I’ve made hundreds of estimates for projects going from 5K$ to 3M$.

I was running a development shop of more than 300 developers, sold it in 2018, and worked for my acquirer, a company of more than 2000 developers.

I’m running code.store now, where we build robust digital platforms using no-code, low-code, and SaaS tools.

Let me share with you how you can get estimates right, within a 10% margin. But first, let’s see why software project estimates are so often dismissed as useless or wrong and why it’s such a painful process for such smart people.

Why software project estimates are often wrong?

--

--

Maxime Topolov

Entrepreneur. CEO of code.store. I write about tech, dev and projects management.