Computer Science 101: Master the Theory Behind Programming (Course Review)

Maxi Ruti
3 min readJul 17, 2022

--

Why did it take this course?

As you may know by now, I am a self-taught web developer, so my learning path started directly with HTML, CSS, and finally javascript before I jumped into my first framework.

As time passed and I became confident about my javascript skills, not because I knew how to do everything but because I knew how to solve or where to find the solutions for the things I didn’t know at that moment.

But at some point I felt, I need to know at least some of the fundamentals of computer science, so I can understand 100% of the code I write or see, and even more important write better code.

That is why I thought of taking some courses about data structure and algorisms.

So as usual, I went to udemy and I found two good courses, with nice descriptions, really good scores, and nice reviews.

The first one is called Computer Science 101: Master the Theory Behind Programming and the teacher is Kurt Anderson the second one is called Master the Coding Interview: Data Structures + Algorithms and the name of the teacher is Andrei Neagoie.

So, I bought both of them

But in this review I am going to be talking about the first one, Computer Science 101: Master the Theory Behind Programming.

About the course

The course is almost eleven hours long and Kurt does a great job delivering all his knowledge throughout all the lessons without wasting any time.

The course has 94 lectures, it is almost 11 hours long and it is divided into 11 sections which are:

  • Introduction
  • Analyzing algorisms
  • Arrays
  • Linked links
  • Stacks and Queues
  • Sorting algorisms
  • Trees
  • Heaps
  • Graphs
  • Conclusion

If you are as new to computing science as I am, I highly recommend you this course, it is easy to understand, and the explanations and examples are great but very simple which makes them much better for beginners.

Even if you don’t know any computer languages you can still understand a lot from this course.

What you will learn

This is what you will learn during the course

  • Binary Number System
  • N Notation
  • Big O Notation
  • How to Analyze a Program
  • Arrays and their Advantages
  • Nodes and their Importance
  • Linked Lists and their Advantages and Implementations
  • Stacks implemented with Arrays and Linked Lists
  • Queues Implemented with Arrays and Linked Lists
  • Various Sorting Algorithms and Their Comparison
  • Trees and Binary Search Trees

Prerequisite

  • A Willingness to Learn New Topics!
  • No Prior Experience or Knowledge is Needed!

My thought about this course

I loved it, it was exactly what I was looking for, I felt packed with a lot of knowledge after this course, and help me understand how my code works and how I can improve it.

Computer Science 101 is of course a very good introduction to such a big topics as Data Structures and Algorithms are.

Some times when I learn something new or see some code I can even remember and understand some things from the course, which I find amazing.

That is why I believe in a couple of months I will going to retake this course, to understand even more what I thought I already understood.

If you want to know more about this Udemy course, click the next link Computer Science 101: Master the Theory Behind Programming

I hope you enjoyed this review and if you happen to know another course about Data Structures and Algorithms, please share it in the comments.

--

--

Maxi Ruti

Argentino en Corea del Sur 🇦🇷🇰🇷 Here I am going to share my journey in the coding world. Junior Web Developer at NOLGONG. I will mostly be reviewing courses