Week 11

Max Watson
3 min readDec 4, 2023

--

04/12/2023

This week I worked on creating a basic model for my film's main character. I wanted to explore a Lofi PS1-style character model where most of the detail comes from the texture. This character was made in blender which I wasn't very familiar with so it took longer than I thought but now I've done it I'm going to create some art and animation tests.

Base Model
Basic Texture

After some animation tests, I will decide if this model and Lofi style are working for my film. After this, I started experimenting with the grain effect I wanted to capture in Adobe After Effects. I adjusted the effect to move away from a VHS-style filter to a more ingrained roughness and uncanny look.

I haven't been able to get feedback on this experiment yet but I will keep trying new effects and see what I like.

I also began working on my artbook design to make it fit the theme of my film. As you can see below I attempted a darker theme on one page with sellotape and messy text. I want to create an old document style for my art book and this was a good test for a darker page. In comparison, I created a lighter more browned page that I also like but I don't think is as interesting as the darker version.

Dark ver
Lighter ver

Next week I want to have a few final artbook pages ready so I can compile my work. I also want to have my blender tests completed for review so I can focus on the animatic and production side after Christmas.

Weekly Media Influences

Finally, I’ll talk about the media I’ve been consuming this week.

Roadside Picnic (1977, A&B Strugatsky, Book) — pg.80

--

--