Maxout Simran
5 min readMar 12, 2024

--

My Journey as Fashion Stylist .

Hi I am Simran.I have been in the Fashion Industry for over 3 decades and have absolutely enjoyed every bit of it .

Professionally I have touched various segments of the Fashion Industry in the Global Markets .I did product development (my key forte )with Brands like Tommy Hilfiger,North Face ,Guess ,Diesel ,Otto ,Wrangler, Zara to name a few .I cherish my time spent with their design teams ,working to serve the market with the best .

I also trained new budding Designers and Fashion Enthusiasts who came as Interns from Reputed Fashion Institutes of India and Other countries .

In the journey I shared my experience and knowledge with eager and enthusiastic students of Fashion Schools like Mod’Art and Raffles in Mumbai .It was a Wonderful Experience .

Of Recent I have been doing Freelancing on Fabrics Knowlegde and use, for Brands who are into Retailing of Garments .

I have been styling for Individual Clientele and helping them with the right choice of Fabrics,Silhouettes and dressing right for occasions .This is driven by a very early passion of giving clothes my own flavour and statement.
Costume Design -It has been a growing experience doing costumes for historical T.V programs.

Retail Design and Production-I got a lovely oppurtunity to learn the Indian Textiles with Madhurya a leading heritage store inside the “Art of Living “ premises and I have been working with them for the last 10 years.

What I am sharing is very personal .I had a wonderful childhood and am grateful to God for my Parents .As we know that we adopt a lot of traits and who we are from our Parents .

My Mother was a house wife and took care of all needs at home ,keeping us well nurtured physically and emotionally .She had been very enterprising and always encouraged us to keep learning new things in life .
At a very early age I used to see my sisters read a magazine called “femina” and I would love to see them flip through it and adapt certain fashion trends.I loved to see my mom , Elder Sisters and Dad dressup so impeccably. This inspired me to dream of becoming a Designer. Dad Mom for my better future ,wanted me to become a doctor .So started preparing for my premedical test and I made a collage of a beautiful cut outs from magazines of Garden Vareli .The mind was in studies and the heart was in Fashion.
Guess what happed ,I failed PMT and requested my parents to send me to a Fashion school in Delhi.

Dad was immensely supportive of what I wanted to do and gave me the permission to study fashion provided I finished my graduation .So I just quickly cleared my graduation in botany ,zoology and chemistry and rushed with Dad to find a college in Delhi .Along with me God sent a lovely friend who accompanied me happily.We both got enrolled and the journey began.
I gave it my all ,going to the college,going for internship ,then completing assignments in the night.I lost 10 kgs ,because time was less ,I could not take care of my hair so had to cut it .
Cheeks became hollow .But I was having fun and was in bliss that I am living my dream.
So the studies got over and I got a job .Now what I studied and what was happening in the reality was different ,cause now the skill learnt and living in an environment of people was different .

Handling minds was a new skill to be developed.Work was absolutely fun and enjoyed everything to the core .Challenges were there but there was a higher power always helping .
Then after 13 years in Delhi ,trying out various mediums like heavy woven fabrics ,knit wear ,bags,high fashion couture I moved to Mumbai .
Life was waiting with something new.

To put my experience and what I studied together was a challenge. How to use my skills in actual gave me a vision to start my own Fashion Institute .
So I looked for manufacturing places in Mumbai ,but did not like them .
My Family told me to start teaching in a fashion college and I absolutely loved it .It was a cake walk and so much fun to mingle with the young energy ,eager to learn and experiment .

Now life had its own movement and I could not handle stress.My elder sister suggested yoga .I did an Art of living program and came down to Bangalore to learn yoga and meditation and life changed to bliss.
In the ashram I learnt how to serve people and new ideas started coming .
My Parents were approaching their 80’s and being their youngest child, I always wanted to take care of them .My Grandfather wanted a son for my dad ,so that the son could support in old age but God had his own plans .I lovingly got them to my Gurus abode and started living a lovely life again.

Covid stuck and I got a beautiful opportunity to take a course on digital marketing with Siddhartha Rajshekhar .At some point in life I along with dad went with a project of a Fashion College ,looking for investors and nothing clicked .
The digital course gave life to my dream of running a Fashion College.
After being a meditator with SriSri ,my life got a new dimension .

Inspired by my mother ,I wanted to have a fashion community where I could help women express themselves better and love themselves .
I realized ,it is so important for people to express themselves .Now we can’t get inside a person but looking at the exterior ,we can know how a person is .
We have handwriting experts and they read you through your strokes and here we have fashion which tells me how a person thinks and behaves .
So I just sat an put all my experience and knowledge in a course I curated called” FASHION Styling Blueprint “
Through this I have reached so many women and helped them realize their power . Encourage them to dress up for who they always wanted to be .
Working with them,getting to know who they are as an individual and what energy they resonate in.
I then put all this acumen to dress them up so that they can reflect who they really are .
I first let them know who they are and help them to understand who they want to be .
Now this has become the sole purpose of my life and I am working on making 10000 women more confidant through my program of Fashion Styling Blueprint .

I have been able to do share my experience for more than 500 students and women and continue to touch more lives with the Grace of Divine.

--

--