A Speck of Dust

Max Smith
1 min readNov 13, 2022
Set against a black background, a modern dancer in a sheer gold dress leaps into the air, knees bent, arms flung out behind her.
Photo by George Kondylis

Even a speck of dust
has a right to live
swirling round on
the white stonewashed patio
violent wind-crazy and enthusiastic
a rabid bug gone
ballistic
I react almost instinctively
with an urge to crush and kill it
believing it an insect
though I make it
a point not to kill
insects unless it can’t be
avoided
there’s a penance paid for all
things a balancing of
the scales I weight
the scales on this
alternate side of heaven
in my favor
my actions are sacrosanct
to a God seeing or more
advanced alien
may they peep my respect for life
in time return the favor
god of all things
monsters of men
giants against the infinitesimal
protect the innocent
have mercy on the small and rodent
we move oblivious and unthinking
of the microscopic gods among us
killing them while we kneel
of the gods above around us.

© 2022 Max Smith

--

--

Max Smith

My background: journalism & communications. My goal : to shed light and connect us through our common humanity. Message me for writing/communications projects.