Sing a Song of Joy w/ Kechi Okwuchi | BOLD

MAX Studios
2 min readSep 23, 2021

--

You’ve seen her on America’s Got Talent and you may have even seen her around campus — Kechi Okwuchi.

“America’s Got Talent will always be a moment in my life that was like a dream come true,” she said. “It was a dream that I never even had until I was experiencing it. Then I realized that this is something that I’ve always wanted to do, I just never dared to dream for something like this.”

Kechi Okwuchi is Nigerian-born author and award-winning singer who rose to fame when she appeared on America’s Got Talent. She is an inspirational and TEDX Keynote speaker, bully-prevention advocate and an MBA student here at the University of St. Thomas.

In this episode of Bold, we talked about Okwuchi’s wild ride, from graduating with a business degree from UST to participating in America’s Got Talent, and the whirlwind of publicity that came after! We also talk about Okwuchi’s return to St. Thomas, and why she is pursuing an MBA with a focus in entrepreneurship.

“My concentration was economics before and that was based off of the fact that I just really loved the subject, but now that I’ve experienced life and I had seen the trajectory that my life was going in I was able to approach my MBA with a different kind of lens.”

Okwuchi said it was less about the subject you like just and more about the practicality.

“Living a life of influencing and traveling and singing, at the end of the day what I’m doing is building a brand,” she said. “I hope is to continue to grow that brand on different platforms and to establish myself as a legit like speaker, musician and author. And, as always, UST welcomed me with open arms.

Watch the full conversation with Okwuchi, https://youtu.be/-RFLyFFCUno. Host Isabel Garcia dives into Okwuchi life experience and what she hopes to accomplish with her new book.

--

--

MAX Studios
0 Followers

We hope to be missionaries encountering culture. We highlight our diverse Catholic Tradition and embody Jesus Christ in truth, goodness and beauty.