Guide to Ego Loss (Ego Death)

Philosopher Sun
4 min readFeb 12, 2018

Watching videos about the universe and tripping on LSD are some common ways that people pursue ego loss, a state in which one finds the world around them to not be separate from themselves and loses protective mentalities around their own emotional security and self-image.

I find these methods to be fine, but secondary to a far more powerful, and long-lasting method. I learned it accidentally while at a business training full of passionate folks who were working to help everyone around them. I actually went to the training in hopes of gaining that same indomitable air of confidence and assurance.

I learned so much there and was having a great time while taking lots of notes. The ending was spectacular and it was right before a memorial video that they told me one simple message, that tied it all together and instantly gave me what I had come there for. The confidence of motivational speakers was something I thought of as extreme ego, but the patterns that they originate from are actually a result of intense ego loss.

Because the realization was something I had heard before and hadn’t thought much of, I’ll have to tell you about the events that lead up to my epiphany.

First was that which I learned from the training itself. We learned how to not sell, but instead to build relationships. I say “to not sell” because we…

--

--

Philosopher Sun

Author and Teacher focusing on quality of life and education reform.