Complete Guide to LLM Fine Tuning for Beginners

Maya Akim
5 min readAug 13, 2023

Fine-tuning a model refers to the process of adapting a pre-trained, foundational model (such as Falcom or Llama) to perform a new task or improve its performance on a specific dataset that you choose.

This is just a fancy way to say that there’s a very simple and easy procedure that allows you to significantly improve LLM and turn it into an expert for ANYTHING. It can become expert for your business, give excellent financial advice or analysis or make it sound exactly like someone your customers would like to talk to. And it works for ANY LLM.

If you don’t feel like reading you can watch my video instead:

I’m going to explain the code step by step so that you can replicate this process on your own.

Google Colab notebook

I’m using Google Colab PRO notebook for fine tuning Llama 2 7B parameters and I suggest you use the same or a very powerful GPU that has at least 12GB of RAM.

So let’s begin:

Install necessary libraries

  1. Huggingface transformers library

--

--

Maya Akim

I'm curious about ml/ai and I like to share everything I learn