Ansley M
2 min readSep 6, 2019

Alabama State University Welcome Week

By: Ansley McDaniel

August 28 2019

With the new freshman class of 2023, Alabama State University’s welcome week was filled with nothing but high energy and fun. Getting them hype and excited, taking all their fears away and staying positive about the new school year.

The 2019 — 2020 school has begun and Alabama State University has started off the right way, with an exciting welcome back week with fun fulfilling events all throughout the week. From Barbecues, to foam parties to talent shows. All planned by ASUs one and only Student Orientation Service Leaders, “couldn’t have been a better week” David Whitlow Jr, SGA (Student Government Association) President stated

When asking S.O.S (Student Orientation Service) Leader Ivana Angion about her welcome week experience she stated, “Everything was great! I truly had a great time during welcome week. My classes have been pretty great so far. I have had the opportunity to meet several freshmen and they love it here so far! I would most DEFINITELY do everything all over again! Of course I would tweak a few things but I would love love love reliving my final college experience” she says

From event after event the time back so far was so exciting for everyone, what was the real kicker though was ASUs welcome week talent show winner Zaria Hall, getting the opportunity to open for States 2019 homecoming concert. Like the motto goes “Where opportunity is here”, opportunity is completely here at Alabama State University.

“I feel great! It feels good being back on campus because it feels like home. I’m excited for the events that have been happening and that are still happening and I know that senior year is going to be great!. I wouldn’t a change a thing! My senior year has already been made of course with the talent show it was an amazing experience that I will never change. Now that we’re a month in, I am exhausted. Balancing work, music gigs, Delta Sigma Theta, a social life, class, and theatre requirements. I am tired but it comes with being a student. Overall though, I would not do it again. I’m just going to keep my first weeks as a senior at Alabama State University, as a memory.” Says Hall

As you can see overall, the time so far spent coming back to thee Alabama Stare University has been what anyone would wish for.