When the “Spiritual but Not Religious” Person Prays

You don’t have to be a part of a traditional faith to put faith in a higher power

Maya Strong
6 min readJan 4, 2020
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Last night, I prayed for the first time in a long time. Not to God or Jesus or to a deity who goes by any name. I addressed my spiritual thoughts to “God or the Universe or whoever is listening.” These days, I like to keep it vague. It feels more peaceful that way.

Keeping the entity on the other end of the line anonymous triggers less of the old Christian guilt programming that I’m used to than starting a prayer off with “Dear Lord.”

My urge to invoke the powers that be was spurred on by the crazy current events. Almost overnight, it seems like the planet is spiraling out of control. We’re sitting on an impending World War while a man with questionable motives (and mental stability) sits in the captain’s seat.

On top of that, all of the daily struggles haven’t disappeared just because the earth at large has bigger fish to fry than my woes.

In my humble opinion, prayer at this stage is useful on a large scale and teeny, tiny individual scale. In a broad sense, it’s an almost literal Hail Mary to pause this madness and knock some sense into the world before all chaos breaks loose. On a personal level, prayer settles the…

--

--

Maya Strong

Intersectional feminist. Everyday activist. Out/proud sapphic woman(ish). She/they. For the rest, read my words. Say hi @ mayastrong.writer@gmail.com