How Coldplay’s Music Gives Me Hope

Mai Cadiz-Valencia
5 min readMar 3, 2018

The first time I heard Chris Martin’s mournful yet beautiful voice on the radio as he sang “Yellow”, I was caught off guard with the onslaught of emotions I felt. I felt sad and at the same time uplifted when the song ended. Then I saw the music video. I was drawn to the simplicity of the story line. It was just Chris singing as he walked down the beach on a dreary day.

There was something heart-breaking yet hopeful to the song “Yellow” and from the time I closely listened to its lyrics, I wanted to hear more of Coldplay. Coldplay’s music was a breathe of fresh air from the pop and rock music ruling the air waves back in the early 2000’s. Although their albums were placed in the alternative rock section in Tower Records (yes, I’m that old), Coldplay’s ballads and rock tunes set them apart because of Chris’ soothing yet woeful voice.

My interest in the band peaked when I heard the single “God Put a Smile Upon Your Face”. Will’s powerful drums, Johnny’s roaring electric guitar, Guy’s moody bass, Chris’ contemplative voice, and the existentialist lyrics made the song optimistic and at the same time sad. The line “Your guess is as good as mine” was Chris’ way of telling people that no one has a clue about what’s going to happen, but there is hope because there is a god you could always believe in.

I bought their second album “A Rush of Blood to the Head” with anticipation. What really sealed my fate as a hopeless Coldplay fan was when I heard the first riffs of “Daylight”. The dark bass balances the joyful drums and guitar, while Chris’ voice marries all the elements together through his hopeful vocals. The upbeat yet minimally dark tone of the song perfectly describes me as a person. I struggle with my emotions but at the same time, I’m hopeful that I will survive life’s tragedies.

My life growing up was not tragic, but it wasn’t charmed either. I had the opportunity to experience life’s little luxuries and had been provided with everything I need. Things just got unbearable when my mother passed away in 2013. When she was still alive, my mother was my everything. When things went wrong, I knew I could always count on her to soothe my frayed nerves and to save me from self-destructing. When she passed away, I felt abandoned. Although I’m surrounded with loving family and friends and an understanding fiance, I’m still mourning for my loss.

I had lofty ambitions in life growing up, but after my mother died I only had one goal — to be truly and completely happy again. Every time I spiral down to depression, I listen to “Fix You” to remind me that we have to be broken in order to make way for a better version of ourselves. When I don’t want to face the day with optimism, I listen to “Daylight” to remind me that the world moves on in a steady fast paced, and I have to move my butt too. When I feel anxious because of what’s happening around the world, I listen to “Don’t Panic” because it literally tells me not to panic. Every Coldplay song has its meaning and connection to my life.

When the band announced in November 2016 that they will perform live in the Philippines on April 4, 2017, I almost blindingly withdrew money from our wedding fund to buy the tickets. My fiance understood my crazy decision and he knows that if I were made to choose between my wedding and Coldplay, I’d choose Coldplay in a heartbeat. To some it was irrational, but I didn’t give a damn to what other people say. It’s my life. I even told my friends that nothing, NOTHING, in this world can stop me from seeing this concert. Even if a gun is pointed at my head, I would still go to the concert.

The most-awaited day came. I was even lucky to be interviewed by Mat Whitecross — director of some of Coldplay’s videos. I must have talked his ear off as I told him about how much I love Coldplay. Mat was very kind in making me feel at ease and he assured me that I was not a blubbering idiot while I was talking about Coldplay. Seeing them perform live was a dream come true and the interview was the most exhilarating thing that happened to me. I couldn’t believe that a fan like me from half way across the globe was given the opportunity to show the world how much I love them.

My only goal of being truly happy happened during the concert. When I heard Chris Martin’s voice live as he sang “A Head Full of Dreams”, I sang my heart and lungs out. I was just screaming, crying, dancing, and laughing the entire night as I thanked heavens for that magical evening. For one night, I was truly happy because of Coldplay’s music. For one night, I forgot my sorrows. For one night, I had the courage to leave my worries behind. For one night, I forgot all my heart aches.

When I heard Chris sang the lines, “You can say it’s mine and clench your fist and see each sunrise as a gift” from the song “Up and Up”, I was mournful because I knew the concert would be over in a few minutes but I was truly grateful because my dream came true. I let my tears fall down and allowed myself to feel sadness, gratitude, happiness, and hope all at the same time. For one night I had a purpose.

I kept the Xyloband (sorry Coldplay but you know only a few people return them after the concert) and the “Love” button. When I feel anger in my heart, I look at that button to remind me that love still matters. When I feel like my world is going to end, I watch the videos of the concert that my fiance took. Those videos remind me that I can be that truly happy in my life if I choose to. Coldplay is my anchor when I feel like I’m a boat being tossed in the sea during a terrible storm.

I know Coldplay will tour again in 2021 and you bet I’ll be there. To Chris and to the rest of the band, thank you for your music and to your message of positivity. I hope to see you backstage in 2021.

--

--

Mai Cadiz-Valencia

Aspiring novelist, bibliophile, Coldplay fan, pseudo-blogger, housewife, fur parent, beta reader, proofreader