Back to school: What to expect going through an incubator program

Megan Nufer
7 min readOct 11, 2022

--

First Social Impact Incubator Class (Credit: DePaul University)

This is my fifth post in a series where I share my personal journey launching my startup, Mayven. Head here to view all previous posts in this series.

***

A year into launching Mayven, I was hungry for my next milestone. I needed something to propel the business forward and strengthen the company’s credibility. Even though Mayven continued to be a “side hustle”, my passion for the idea and concept only grew stronger with time. Deep down, I knew that if I didn’t bring my idea to life, someone else would — and I would be full of regret.

APPLYING TO AN INCUBATOR

On a cold, otherwise uneventful day, I serendipitously stumbled upon that next milestone while scrolling through my LinkedIn newsfeed.

Post Caption: Do you have a business idea with a strong social impact mission? Apply to the Coleman Entrepreneurship Center at DePaul University’s inaugural Social Impact Incubator kicking off in January 2022. Blue Background with the following: SOCIAL IMPACT INCUBATOR: Our pilot incubator program will boost the success of entrepreneurial ventures, owned by DePaul students, alumni, and community members. -6-week in-peron bootcamp sessions with dinner included -Opportunity to hire a DePaul stude
DePaul Driehaus College of Business Instagram post marketing their Social Impact Incubator

In case you’ve never heard of an incubator before (or know it as something for keeping babies warm): “A startup incubator is a collaborative program for startup companies — usually physically located in one central workspace — designed to help startups in their infancy succeed by providing workspace, seed funding, mentoring and training” (U.S. Chamber of Commerce).

As I would come to learn, participating in an incubator would be a crucial step on my startup journey. I had no idea if Mayven would qualify for DePaul’s pilot program, but I thought it would be worth a shot. Reviewing the syllabus and program details, there was one item that jumped out: the incubator would meet Monday nights from 6:00 to 9:00 PM.

While this may seem unexceptional to some of you reading this, 6:00 to 9:00 PM includes dinner time, bath time, and bedtime for our toddler, plus attending to any needs our dog Peja might have. My biggest concern was no longer whether Mayven would qualify, but how my husband would react to flying solo every Monday night during the worst part of Chicago’s brutal winter. I decided not to worry about it and submit my application. If and only if DePaul selected Mayven, I would have the conversation with my husband.

NAVIGATING “MOMMY GUILT”

Two days into the new year, I received an email that I had been accepted into the incubator! As excited as I was to see my idea getting recognition, the acceptance meant I had to hit unpause on the anxiety I had been feeling when I first applied. Upon closer examination of my thoughts, I was feeling guilty about the amount of parenting duties I would be placing on my husband in order to pursue my dreams. I am no stranger to this specific brand of guilt, and it even has a name: “Mommy Guilt”. It is something that burdens many moms when we step away from our families to do something for ourselves.

Pushing through it, I told my husband my good news. He was super excited for me and told me he was proud. “But…there’s a catch,” I continued. “The program is on Monday nights for seven weeks which means you’d be on baby and dog duty while I’m at class.” Without any hesitation, he reassured me that we could manage just fine.

Four pictures of my husband interacting with our daughter Charlotte: Playing with her, cuddling with her, and feeding her a bottle.
My husband, Michael, with our daughter Charlotte

I’m not sure why I was so concerned. Mike has always been a great, hands-on dad. From the very beginning, he’s been vocal about wanting kids and a family. His support and willingness to take on an equal amount of parenting responsibilities (if not more) has allowed me to be successful in my Mayven endeavors.

BACK TO SCHOOL

It was weird but exhilarating stepping back into a classroom. With the pandemic still raging and my consulting job being WFH, it felt good to get out of our Chicago condo and have the opportunity to be around people (even if it meant strapping on a face mask for three hours).

First page of a paper syllabus with DePaul University written at the top followed by Coleman Entrepreneurship center-Winter Quarter 2022. CEC Social Impact Incubator with the dates and times of the 7 week program. Followed by the professors names and contact information.
CEC Social Impact Incubator syllabus and program outline which was waiting for us when we stepped into the classroom

We were asked to prepare a five-minute pitch for our company in advance of the first session. Pitching our ideas to one another would help us get acclimated with each other and our respective businesses. Setting out to create a pitch deck, I started to review the many grant applications I had submitted over the past year.

Even though I wasn’t a finalist for any of them, I got better at telling my story and articulating Mayven’s value proposition with every application I submitted. And as silly as it sounds, I became a pro at answering the infamous “tell me about yourself” question that so often comes up. Even though it was taxing to continually apply for things and get turned down, there was definitely value in fine-tuning my story each time. As the saying goes, practice makes perfect.

Tip: Every time you apply for a grant, be sure to save a copy of the application. This will not only save you time when applying to future opportunities, but will provide a written record of the evolution of your value proposition.

On the first day, I was scheduled to pitch toward the middle of the pack. This gave me the chance to listen to a handful of my peers introduce themselves and their businesses before the spotlight fell on me. Even though I had presented many times in corporate settings and in front of senior leaders, I still had jitters. “WHY am I SO nervous?” I thought to myself walking up to the front of the classroom. In retrospect, maybe it was because this is the first time I was allowing myself to be vulnerable by formally presenting a new and untested idea. I couldn’t fully shake my nerves so I did my best to articulate myself and engage my audience while presenting the slides below.

Nine powerpoint slide thumbnails describing and demoing my business
My first assignment pitch deck slides

Thankfully, five minutes flew by and before I knew it, the audience Q&A had started.

“How did you find the brands to put on your site?”

“Are you generating any revenue?”

This brought me back to the early days of Mayven and the questions my close group of friends asked me when I told them I had a business idea. Explaining a business idea that is still a prototype can be very intense. But these questions are some of the most valuable feedback I have ever received because they helped me see things from a new perspective and check any blind spots I may have missed.

Each of the next five weeks of the program was structured around a key theme and featured a guest speaker who helped bring it to life. I created a summary of what we covered below.

During week two, DePaul paired us with a mentor to act as a sounding board and resource as we continued to build our businesses. I found this to be one of my favorite aspects of the incubator. My mentor was Kison Patel, the founder and CEO of DealRoom, an M&A lifecycle management software. I am immensely grateful to Kison for his invaluable support.

Short Bio of Kison Patel followed by: DePaul University-Driehaus College of Business-Coleman Entrepreneurship Center Social Impact Incubator Logo. Left picture is a headshot of Megan Nufer and right picture is a headshot of Kison Patel
Social Media post showcasing my mentor, Kison Patel, as well as my myself and my business

GRADUATION

The final week of the incubator brought things full circle. Each participant had the opportunity to re-pitch their business idea incorporating the lessons and strategies learned over the previous seven weeks. This time, however, our mentors and other members of the community were in the audience. The goal of this was to simulate what it would be like to pitch to a VC (venture capital firm) and the questions they might pose. I am pleased to report I felt calmer and more confident in my value proposition than on the first day of the program. The incubator had been a success.

Following the pitches, my peers’ mentors, many of whom are also investors, offered feedback on Mayven. It was at this moment I began to take note of how gender would play a role in raising capital for Mayven. When talking with men, their questions and body language generally exuded skepticism.

“How are you getting the data?”

“What’s the tech behind it?”

“I think you may be on to something but I’m not quite sure I completely understand the concept.”

This wasn’t the first time I found myself struggling to get through to men when discussing Mayven. 70–80% of U.S. consumer spending is controlled by women (Forbes), so it makes sense that females are more receptive to resources and websites which make shopping easier. Unfortunately for me, much of the VC world is controlled by men. Going the VC route to raise funds for Mayven would not be without its challenges.

On the other hand, a female mentor present that evening praised my idea for Mayven. Her questions radiated curiosity, optimism.

“How big is your team?”

“Are you funded?”

“What’s your plan to scale?”

It was clear she “got it” and encouraged me to continue running with the idea.

I left our final session that night feeling a sense of accomplishment. Taking to Instagram, I proudly posted the picture below to continue the momentum and push Mayven out to the world.

I didn’t know it at the time, but this post would prove to be life-changing.

To be continued…

Laptop showing “Welcome to Mayven” text on the back of a leafy heart-shaped image with two hands facing up. Text on bottom of screen: Megan Nufer, https://shopmayven.com and megan@shopmayven.com. Below the laptop screen are the following hand written notes: March 7th: Mayven Final Pitch SLIDE 1: Hello Everyone, my name is Megan Nufer and I am the founder of Mayven. SLIDE 2: I created Mayven as a place to go to find and discover brands that match your values. SLIDE 3: THE PROBLEM…How many times
Personal Instagram post showing the first slide of my final CEC Incubator powerpoint accompanied by my written out presentation notes

--

--

Megan Nufer

Mom l Wife l Founder/CEO of tech startup Mayven | Passionate about sparking change, misfitting in, and value-based shopping | Join me on my journey.