Starting a Podcast On The Cheap

Mark Delaney
3 min readJun 27, 2020

--

Don’t make it more complicated than it really is.

Image courtesy of jesben and Pixabay

When I was looking to start my podcast, I found myself in paralysis analysis. I was overthinking EVERYTHING.

Do I use this service or that one to host? What kind of microphone do I need? How will I edit? I don’t have ANY experience in editing audio!

I already had a topic picked out and knew exactly what I wanted to do.

The podcast would be a complement to my site, where I share information and resources with veterans going through the transition process of leaving the military. I already had the first big hurdle in starting a podcast out of the way — I knew what I was going to talk about and already have a growing audience.

But I still didn’t know how to get started.

You could say the same thing about starting a blog. Do you use Wordpress or Squarespace? Wix? Who do you get for hosting?

My personal difference was that I felt FAR more comfortable writing. That is my environment. The decisions came easier because I had much more of a connection with the writing process. I know how to write. The foundation was already there — I just needed to add the trim.

Podcasts, however, were a whole other animal for me.

I’ve NEVER done anything with audio. Not a recording, nothing. So figuring out how to get started with that was a whole new ball game for me.

In starting, I prioritized ease of production and distribution.

Right now my podcast, The Veteran (Semi) Professional, is still very much a work in progress. It’s rough around the edges, but I’ve already been told the content is good. The details about sound quality and editing will come as I learn.

So what did I choose to get started?

Artwork: 99 Designs

Because I already had a logo for my blog, I wanted to keep the podcast logo very similar. I reached out to the designer on 99 Designs who made my blog logo, told them the slight alteration I wanted for the podcast. They made it within 72 hours and I paid $75.

Hosting: Buzzsprout

This option was the easiest way to host my podcast, distribute it to the major podcast listening services, and get data about how the show is doing.

If you are just testing the waters, they have a free option that allows you to have two hours worth of content per month. And to get 3 hours/month is only $12 — very reasonable.

Their site also has a lot of helpful information to help get you started.

Recording: Zencastr

I’ve been a guest on a few podcasts as well and when we start talking shop, I usually find that my fellow podcaster doesn’t know about Zencastr.

Here’s what I like about them:

  • Free option to get started
  • Records every participant on a different track, which makes editing easier. This leads to the next point….
  • They have automatic post-production

Yes, that’s right. If you pay for the Professional plan at $20/month, you get 10 hours of post-production free. And if you want additional time, the prices are extremely reasonable.

This was huge for me. I click a button and Zencastr takes the tracks from everyone on the podcast, cleans up the audio, and drops the file in my Google drive as a single track. All within moments.

Is it perfect? No. But it’s probably about a 80% solution and it saved me a boatload of time and effort in trying to produce good audio.

Editing: GarageBand

You can also try Audacity, which is a free open-source audio editing software. As a Mac user, my laptop already has GarageBand and so I just use that.

In my editing, all I’m really doing is cutting out the “fluff”. The Zencastr post-production tool will give me a single track of clean(er) audio. I then go in and hack out awkward pauses, “ums”, and my niece slamming a door in the other room. I RARELY touch any of the audio editing functions.

That’s it.

What were my total startup costs?

  • ATR2100x-USB microphone ($99)
  • Logo design ($75)
  • Buzzsprout 3/hrs month ($12/month)
  • Zencastr ($20/month)

So for the first year, I’m looking at a grand total of $558.

Now it’s just a matter of keeping at it and putting out regular, engaging content.

--

--

Mark Delaney

Love the beach but mountains speak to my soul. Currently working on a blog providing resources for veterans: www.theveteranpro.com