Why is the iPad good for kids?

Mehmet
4 min readOct 16, 2019

--

Photo by stem.T4L on Unsplash

As a parent, I think that my kids should be able to use basic tech devices. They should know how to use multimedia features. In my opinion, they should learn the basics of digital art. When they become youth, they should be able to use a basic random interface without asking for help. There are several reasons for my title’s claim. These are; being able to restrict time, apps and functions. Secondly, Apple offers a safe and cheap gaming experience via Apple arcade. Thirdly, multimedia platforms allow users to save films or music such as Spotify and Netflix.

Apple Arcade

Some parents think that making kids play electronic devices especially mobile devices is harmful to kids, but I don’t think so. Until Apple added the screen time and app limits function for kids, I wasn’t very comfortable with these digital devices, but now I can control the apps and functions of the device.

There are several good features to protect kids while having fun on the iPad. I can limit some multimedia functions according to age standards such as films, music, and games, limit the usage time for each day of the week. After the maximum minutes reached It blocks using apps partially or all apps. I can set up screen time and limit the device in the night time or whenever I want. (This is different from app time limit. This function is allowing or blocks whole device functions.)

I can block a specific app or web page and allow specific apps or a web page. So when I block a group of app such as “Games” category, the specific apps that I allow don’t get affected by this restriction.

Source: Cnet

The next reason is Apple Arcade which makes me happy because of allowing my kids to play with ad-free games securely. Nowadays one of the biggest problems for using these devices is the security of kids. Free games have flying or flashing silly ads pop-up on the screen, connect silly apps or videos on youtube which are not suitable for kids, and I can’t prevent this problem with free or even some purchased games. Even I pay tens of dollars for a game suddenly they see a pop-up screen that offers a feature of that game or a game related to the game being played. Free games have much more chaos while playing it. I wish Apple will release better games for all age groups and protect kids from silly apps, videos, and web sites. Introduction is ok, but if Apple increases the variety of games with brand games, then this platform can stick young users to Apple from their childhood.

Apple’s one of the weakest sides was games when they were just a computer brand. Actually I was expecting Arcade move when they released Apple TV. I purchased a Nimbus wireless game controller to play games on my iOS devices and wanted to be ready for the games on Apple TV. Because playing on a touch screen doesn’t make me feel good when I play games for such an old-fashioned user like me. Unfortunately, there were not many compatible good games for the Nimbus game controller on iOS and Apple TV, so the money wasted. I was expecting a PlayStation, Xbox or Nintendo killing move from Apple. Even the arcade games are very new and don’t seem to be addicting, Apple found a good mine. If they enrich this mine with powerful brand games, then they can capture this market as a first mover.

Apple Arcade games can be played on multiple platforms. AppleTV, Mac, and iOS devices. Image-Source: MacWorld

By the way, the availability of Apple arcade’s on Mac computers, and Apple TV is a good idea and a good move for being PlayStation, Xbox and Nintendo alternative. Even there seems to go a long way, and Apple can close the gap with its financial power.

Thirdly, the offline playing feature of multimedia apps is an important aspect for the iPad to be used by kids. Some parents may not allow the devices to operate online or mostly being able to use an iPad while travelling is a common issue. Apps like Spotify, Netflix or AppleTV allows users to store music or films on iOS devices. Through this feature, parents can have control on what to be listened to or watched. Explicit songs can be blocked on the Spotify app, and age restrictions can be applied on Netflix or AppleTV apps.

Source: TheNewDaily

Consequently, In my opinion, the most important issue of iPad usage for kids is privacy and control on devices. Apple saw the huge gap in privacy and had very good moves. But still, there is a lack of communication between Apple and users, especially parents. Most people don’t know that there are such beneficial features of iOS devices to protect their kids and limit apps or features. In my opinion, the most valuable things for parents are their kids. So when the issue is clearly told to parents, they can choose Apple because of these features.

--

--