A Resolution of Consistency

After years of failed New Years resolutions

Mike Brevoort
1 min readJan 1, 2018

“Consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

This was one of the my favorite quotes of my formative years, perhaps a self fulfilling prophecy. I’ve always reveled in variety, change, inconsistency, besides the fact that I order the same thing off the menu at restaurants.

The irony of the quote as presented above is that it is unfairly truncated. The full quote begins with an imperative qualification:

A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds…” -Ralph Waldo Emerson

What does all this have to do with New Years resolutions?

You see, every attempt I’ve made at yearly resolutions has failed and faded into the abyss of February, March and so on. And I’ve likely self sabotaged out of a predisposition for inconsistency and falling into what can now be summed up as bad habits.

So here we are on the eve of a new year. I’m giving it another go, in the face of all my self fulfilling preconceived notions of who I am and what makes me tick.

In 2018 I will run at least one mile every single day.

365 days, in sickness and in health, in the sweltering heat and the bitter cold, on busy travel days, jet lagged, weary, at least one mile. Surely I can muster a mere 10 minutes each day. 😅

Consistency, like a metronome…

Tick.

Tick

Tick

Tick

Tick

I’m bored already 🤔.

Tomorrow is a new day. It’s time to face some demons. See you on the other side.

--

--

Mike Brevoort

Just like you but different. Runner, cyclist, parent. Engineering @Slack