7 Effective Ways to Make Friends and Build a Strong Social Network on a Study Abroad

Seth McCombie
5 min readJun 30, 2023

--

How to build a solid social network abroad and why it’s important to your language learning and building friendships

Introduction:

The first time I left home to live in the Middle East and study Arabic was one of the most exhilarating times of my life. But it was also one of the most exhausting! Anyone whose life circumstances allows them to study a language full-time in another country has a lot to be grateful for, but at the same time, it can be a challenging and even draining experience.

While I was getting settled, I wondered things like: How do I find my way around? How do I get my groceries? How do I engage with the local cultures while also staying safe, yet also staying connected to friends and family at home? How do I make friends here in the first place when I don’t speak their language well?

I struggled with all of these questions. If you have as well, the research on studying abroad says that you’re not alone and that these concerns are common to most students. Thankfully, I found something that helped me tremendously with most with these challenges: building a strong social network in the first few weeks.

To help you when you go abroad, this article examines seven effective strategies for establishing friendships and cultivating a social network while studying abroad.

Social Networks are both a safety net and a rich source of connection, friendship, and learning

1. Participate in Language Exchange Programs:

Language exchange programs offer a superb platform for connecting with local students or language enthusiasts keen on practicing their native language in exchange for their own. Participating in such programs facilitates language acquisition and provides avenues for establishing significant social connections. I participated in one of these through the US Embassy in Amman, Jordan, made strong friendships there with Jordanians, and learned far more about the country and its people than I would have just wandering around downtown on my own.

2. Engage in Extracurricular Activities:

The best approach to meeting people who share your interests or hobbies is by taking part in extracurricular activities that are relevant to them. Become a member of clubs, sports teams, or cultural organizations to meet other students with similar interests. This common interest can encourage friendships and give one a sense of community.

When I was in Amman, I often visited a local university where they had everything from Chess clubs to the K-Drama speech club. (I still have no idea exactly what the K-Drama club did, but other campus activities were a great way for me to make friends.)

Clubs, groups, and teams can lead to developing strong friendships, something that is proven to enhance a study abroad experience and allow you to give back to your host country

3. Attend Social Events and Gatherings:

Attend social activities hosted by your study abroad program, university, or community. Cultural festivals, networking events, and welcoming parties are examples. Participate in conversations, introduce yourself, and be open to meeting new people. Socializing during occasions like these is often easy because it’s more natural to start and stop conversations as needed.

As a foreigner, people may be naturally curious about why you’re visiting. Sharing what you’ve appreciated and noticed about their country and language can go a long way toward building sincere friendships.

I wasn’t great at this at first, but after attending a wedding and being asked the same questions 20 times about why I was in Jordan, you better believe I got good at telling that story!

Learning to tell your story at social events is a huge asset to building a network of friends

4. Utilize Social Media and Online Communities:

Use social media and online networks to interact with fellow students and locals before studying abroad. Join Facebook groups, language exchange forums, and local or study-abroad online communities. It goes without saying that caution is warranted with virtual connections, making connections before even arriving at your destination can give you a leg up and help you feel at home when you’re plane lands.

5. Stay in Shared Accommodations:

Shared housing, like university dorms or apartments, provides a social environment. Living with students from different backgrounds creates connections and camaraderie. Organize communal events, cook together, or plan outings for cultural exchange and bonding.

6. Volunteer or Participate in Community Service:

Volunteering is a rewarding way to meet locals and like-minded people. Volunteer for local causes, community service organizations, or events. These activities help you make friends and improve the community.

While I’ve been abroad, I’ve volunteered at churches, orphanages, mosques, and NGOs. These all involved much different language than I used when I was hanging out with friends, and it helped stretch me in my Arabic learning.

Marj Al-Hamam, a neighborhood near Amman with several charitable organizations

7. Take the initiative and Be Open-Minded:

Finally, we all have to take the initiative and leave our comfort zones to develop a strong social network while studying abroad. Accept cultural differences and persistently seek out social interactions. Along the way, you may meet a critic or two (like the guy who told me to go back to my own country or he’d call the police), but most people will appreciate your sincere interest in their country and language and will help you along your way.

Conclusion:

While studying abroad to learn a language, making friends, and developing a social network is a rewarding experience that improves cultural immersion and language learning.

During your study abroad experience, you can forge lifelong friendships and create a sizable social network by actively participating in language exchange programs, extracurricular activities, and social events, using social media, choosing shared accommodations, volunteering, and keeping an open mind.

--

--

Seth McCombie

PhD student at CMU studying 2nd Language Acquisition. Publishing occasional articles for busy students wanting to learn languages faster.