Do You Really Need a Niche to Grow on Medium?

I tested it and here is what I found…

Manish Dangi
3 min readJan 4, 2024

What should my niche be?

If you’re about to start writing on Medium, I know this question is probably on your mind.

You’re wondering, should I just work on the niche I’m an expert in?

Well, I’ve been on Medium for the last 3 months now, and I’ve found some really interesting things about how this platform works.

I actually manage many websites for myself and my clients, so I have a decent understanding of niches and their pros and cons.

I know Google prioritizes niche first when it comes to search rankings.

But what about Medium???

The truth is, I can’t give you a solid conclusion.

Because Medium isn’t very transparent about how their algorithm actually works.

I don’t know for sure

if consistently writing about SEO, for example, will make Medium’s algorithm boost my posts to more people interested in SEO.

You know what I mean? or what I want to say….

When I open the Explore tab or my Home feed on Medium, in the “For You” section I still find all types of posts even if I don’t follow those creators or have any interest in those topics.

Snapshot of Medium.com

Like this post about Humanity….

So my answer is:

If I don’t know How Medium suggests or prioritizes content, then how can I tell you that you need a Niche.

However, if you choose to work within a particular niche, there are some clear benefits:

First off, you can increase your expertise and establish authority. By focusing deeply on one field, you have a chance to become an expert.

This allows you to build credibility and position yourself as a leading resource for readers interested in your niche.

Additionally, niche writing enables you to attract a targeted audience who cares specifically about your topic.

This leads to better visibility and engagement.

You’ll be directly serving the needs and interests of your readers.

There’s also better monetization potential within a niche. As you become seen as an authority, you stand out from the competition.

By gaining your readers’ trust, you put yourself in a better position to earn through Medium’s Partner Program.

So what do I prefer overall?

Honestly, I think it’s best to choose a niche.

Right now I mainly write about “make money” topics, and I’ve become known for that.

If I suddenly switched gears and started writing about spirituality or manifestation, I’m not sure my existing readers would click on my posts as much.

My click-through rate might decrease. And Medium’s algorithm could see that as lower-quality content. We can’t say for sure exactly how Medium works.

Does this make sense????

I think there’s real advantage in sticking to a niche — at least when you’re starting out on the platform.

It helps you build credibility and connect with an audience looking specifically for your type of content.

➡️Subscribe Me here ➡️ https://medium.com/@mcdangi21/subscribe

--

--