Ross McGinley
1 min readOct 15, 2023

--

When I Wake Up

When I wake up early,
And I lie alone in bed,
There only is one thought I have,
One face inside my head.
And if I cannot be with you,
I write to you instead,
And let you know I'm loving you,
And feel my face turn red!

But I am not embarrassed,
It's your thoughts make me excited,
Happy when I think of you,
My morning love ignited.
Then I think of future days,
My love is not short-sighted,
Know how deeply I love you,
And I could never fight it

Never fight, don't step back,
As I am not the same,
Knowing that I feel your love,
Both in my heart and brain.
I know there's bumps along the path,
That may cause us some pain.
But knowing that I have you now,
I won't look back again.

Knowing that I have you now,
As you know you have me,
Thinking of my future trips,
To meet you by the sea.
Revelling in happiness,
That you have brought me,
Knowing that my heart is filled,
With joyful love and glee.

--

--