The Afterlife is Not Full of People Talking and Playing Sports

We Made Up Earth to the Heavens

Cathy Bolden, LMFT
6 min readMay 7, 2024
By Madmaxmarchhare of English Wikipedia, CC BY 2.5, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=7634172

When I think of time, one of the first things that comes to my mind is that it is a made-up concept — a social construct that humans have created to navigate and better manage our lives. Time helps us measure life sequentially to look at past, present and future.

Obviously, time is not the only man-made concept from which we live our lives. I look around and think about how much of daily life is a made up illusion. We define humanity and move about the world with such a limited definition, yet many of us call ourselves spiritual.

I was talking with my brother and sister about my aunt that died of Lewy Body Disease, and I was saying I wish I would have talked to her more. She became non-verbal and needed someone to try to paraphrase her feelings, as well as, reflect back on her life. I remember her disease coming at the sametime as my son’s disease, both her and he ending up non-verbal. Needless to say, I didn’t have much time to spend with my illing aunt.

During the conversation, my siblings kind of wavered back and forth making comments like “I don’t know, she was pretty gone,” “I don’t see it that way,” or “What makes you say that?” My siblings seemed dumbfounded that I believed my aunt would have been able…

--

--

Cathy Bolden, LMFT

therapist, artist, writer, small business owner, mediocre athlete, special needs mother and caretaker - interested in a lot of topics, but my writing goes deep