9/30–10/6

Miles Chandler
2 min readOct 6, 2019

--

What did you do last week?
Last week I lost so much sleep studying for my math stats test while balancing phase 1 of the SWE project and the voting project for OOP. It was a tough week. I seriously can’t wait to graduate and never have to stress over exams again. But I’m glad it’s over and I can enjoy a few days of fun before getting back into academics.
What’s in your way?
I have a data mining exam, and a data mining project due Tuesday and I haven’t started. I also have a lot of work to do with Texas 4000. I joined the fundraising committee with some math majors with the ambition to increase total fundraising using data science.
What will you do next week?
Next week I will recover from last week. I hope to not do much academics and chill out more. I’ll probably use this time to catch up in the other classes that I have neglected. I hope to do a lot of yoga and lifting. I might even go to Austin Bouldering Project.
Experience making equal, copy, fill
The implementation was so much easier than I expected. That’s really thanks to iterators and the way C++ designs them. It is just like a pointer but not. I like how the templating types of the methods allow various pointers to be used.
Pick of the week?
VS code live share. It’s an extension for VS code that lets you collaborate on code with a partner just like google docs. Its impact on partner project code output was HUGE for my previous classes. If you haven’t tried it I highly recommend it. I also would recommend researching good plugins for any editor you are using. It’s huge for your productivity to be using all the tools you have available. My other pick of the week is WORK LIFE BALANCE. It should be one of the biggest factors that you consider when looking for places to work full time. It’s almost more important than salary. In the end, we die how we came into the world….with nothing. So don’t waste your life doing things that aren’t fulfilling just for a high salary. Put your happiness over everything. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t work hard. But don’t go through the motions of life if you aren’t enjoying it.

--

--